No impulse decisions….. aka don’t jump into things and do the PREBOOT

I’ve never been a crash dieter, or even any type of dieter, as I was always thin in my younger years.  I never jump on the latest trends for food, clothes, technology or life!  You’re looking at someone who keeps clothes as long as they fit and eat foods I like, not just because they’re trendy.  One problem I’ve always struggled with is impulse decisions.  Though I have to use a lot of logic in my profession and a scientist and teacher, the aspects of my general life have always been subjected to impulses and emotions.

When I watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, I immediately wanted to purchase a juicer, go get a shit-ton of produce and start to drink away my troubles.  Well, the last year I’ve got through some pretty severe financial troubles which forced me to avoid impulse shopping, eating, etc…. because I was plain old poor!  I’m really thankful for that hardship because it enabled me to really research and think about how I was going to start this REBOOT and attempt to get my health back.

Today, I took the produce I bought and went to a friend’s house who has a juicer.  I was able to make the juices i planned, enough for a few days, and we had a good time doing it.  Thank goodness I didn’t spend money I didn’t have on a juicer yet.  Now I’ve got the juices I’m integrating into my life while transitioning off the foods I’m dependent on.

Honestly, had I not exercised the logical part of my brain, I probably would have jumped right in with no food and straight juice, which just isn’t right for me.  In addition, I would have endured terrible withdraw symptoms.  Hopefully it will turn out to be the right decision, though I’m really not looking forward to giving up my soda habit.  It’s my one addiction and comfort concoction.

Leave a Reply

