the sky is falling…… or at least it felt that way when my computer died and I lapsed on juicing

Day 3 of my juice fast and it got completely derailed by life last night.  My computer, whom (yes I refer to it as a person) I’ve loved for 6 years, crashed last night.  I love my macbook pro!  It got me through graduate school and years of teaching.  It’s helped me with my business, communication with the outside world and family, and has served as the one place that all of my personality was manifest on an inanimate object.

What I learned from this crash:  1) I love this computer way more than someone should love an object; 2) my OCD goes into overdrive trying to find solutions to make it work again; 3) I am willing to forget about everything in life to make it work again; 4) it’s hard for me to concentrate on being healthy when I’m obsessed with fixing something; 5) I see comfort in food a lot more than I thought I did.

Now let’s expand on #4 and #5.  Going to an all juice diet takes a lot of money, concentration and general strength with determination.  I found that all of my concerns about my juice fast didn’t matter anymore once I knew I had to get my computer up and running again. I’m out of produce and went to get a new computer instead of going to the grocery store to buy what I needed for my juice!  I don’t have much money, so I had to choose between a new computer or food; I chose the computer.

This juice fast is very important to me, but I couldn’t see past my problems and keep my eye focused on my goal.  If a computer crashing derails me, what does that mean for the rest of my cleanse?  Well, I’ve got to change my priorities and find reasonable work arounds for the things life throws at me.  Yes, I need a computer for many reasons, one being I need it for work!  And money is definitely a necessity in life.  Not the mention the fact that I’m fixing to be knee-deep in a PhD program and will DESPERATELY need a laptop!

I’m taking the weekend to do my best to recover my data and put it on a new hard drive in hopes I can return this computer.  I love new computers, but I do not feel the need to always get the latest and greatest, so this computer does not feel right to me.  For now, I’m hoping to get back on track with my juicing.

Breakfast: 

smoothie with pineapple, mango, almonds, coconut water, 1/2 cup yogurt

Lunch/dinner 

Golden chick: chicken fingers, french fries and a dinner roll.  I tell you, I was so stressed about the computer, I headed to the first thing I thought would make me feel better.  Honesty, it did, for a little while.  Moreover, the stress kept me from drinking enough water so I feel very dehydrated.

Weight: 180 pounds (no change)

Trying to stay encouraged 🙂 #juiceON

One thought on “the sky is falling…… or at least it felt that way when my computer died and I lapsed on juicing

Leave a Reply

